MIA Facts Site

Report of the
Senate Select Committee
POW-MIA Affairs:
Section 1





In acknowledging those who have contributed to the Senate's

investigation, we owe a special thanks to the professional staff

who have helped us examine tens of thousands of documents,

interview hundreds of sources, depose nearly 200 witnesses, prepare

for public hearings, and provide the advocacy on both sides of the

POW/MIA issue that has been lacking in other examinations of this

matter. Their work represents more than a commitment to the job; it

is an abiding commitment to the POW/MIA issue.


The Committee selected its non-partisan staff based on their

investigative skills, and based on their abilities to argue

opposing sides of the central arguments: Were Americans left

behind? Are any alive today? What more can be done to find answers

about their fate? Their work has been tremendous, but it is their

insights that we value in particular because they have helped us

sort through the myriad of issues by giving us the strongest

arguments on every side of the issues.


The staff to whom we owe our special thanks are, in alphabetical

order: Kim Baker, Camilla Bartels, J. William Codinha, Nancy K.

Cuddy, Deborah L. DeYoung, Roger Epstein, John F. Erickson,

Hilton Foster, Dan Fox, Stephen Gekoski, Heather Grimsley, Doug

Hall, Keisha Hargo, Don F. Harrison, Jon D. Holstine, Bryce Hunter,

Neal Kravitz, James K. Lay, Col. William LeGro (USA-Ret.), John

Mattes, David McClung, Jon McCreary, Ken Mendelson, Col. Harold

Nicklas (USA-Ret.), Richard S. Smith, Robert P. Taylor, Roger

Thyen, Sedgwick D. Tourison, Jr., Barry L. Valentine, Jonathan

Wallace, Catherine C. Woods, and Frances A. Zwenig.


We also owe our gratitude to the staff of Members' personal offices

and committees, including, in alphabetical order, Dino Carluccio,

Peter Cleveland, Al Fortunato, Art Grant, Chris Kolesnik, Erin

McGrath, Neal McKnight, Lori Murray, Admiral James W. Nance (USN,

Ret.), Carter Pilcher, Mark Salter, Bob Seltzer, Nancy Stetson, and

Bill Woodward.


While there is always a danger in singling out any individual, all

members of the Committee believe several people deserve special



Frances Zwenig - The Committee is particularly grateful for her

leadership and patience, often under difficult circumstances. As

Staff Director, she presided over the full range of passions on

this issue, coordinating divergent views and ultimately tenuous

much of the credit for the consensus in this report.


Bill Codinha - The Committee extends special thanks to its Chief

Counsel, who took leave from private law practice and family to

marshal the investigation's team. He displayed enormous legal and

political acumen, never losing his patience or direction even under

the most intense pressure.

Deborah DeYoung - Charged with responsibility for relations with

press and families, as well as coordinating production of the

Report, our Communications Director proved sensitive, dependable

and professional.


Bill Woodward - The Chairman's designee deserves special credit for

eloquently expressing the complex issues surrounding POW/MIA

questions. His work late into the nights, at times with failing

computers, gave voice to our conclusions; throughout the year, his

insight into the broader issues helped the Committee in its work.


Dino Carluccio - As the Vice Chairman's designee, he was

instrumental in keeping the Committee focused on every lead in key

areas of the investigation and worked in passionate pursuit of the

truth and with tireless attention to detail.


Finally, we have appreciated the attention devoted to the POW/MIA

issue by members of the press corps, and in particular C-SPAN, who

did a great deal to help the Committee show the public its work on

this unresolved question. For too long, the POW/MIA issue was the

province of fringe media; during the past 15 months, the mainstream

press corps has helped us to re-examine in a very open way an issue

that polls consistently show still haunts more than half of all Americans.

Return to SSC Report Table of Contents
Go to next section